baking

SALTED CARAMEL CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

salted caramel chocolate chip cookies

Whenever I find myself feeling a little on the depressed side I get the urge to bake. Whether it’s my subconscious’ way of telling me stuffing my face with some sweet, sugary goodness will cheer me up or that I find channeling my energy into whipping up some tasty treats relaxing, I just go with it.

I’ve been pinning cookies on Pinterest like crazy lately, and I’ve ben dying to try out these salted caramel chocolate chip cookies. Seriously how perfect do they sound?

This was my first attempt at these sweet & salty cookies and overall I think they turned out pretty well. They were delicious, anyway.

I think next time I’ll try to find actual caramel bites (I had to use caramel squares that I cut up and I don’t think my pieces were bite-sized enough) and go with mini chocoalte chips rather than these ginormous ones I used. Why I’m complaining about having extra chocolate I will never know.

I also might go for a smaller cookie scoop: The recipe calls for tablespoons and I’m pretty sure mine were one and a half tablespoons. Since my cookies were larger, I gave them a few extra minutes in the oven until they were just browned on the bottoms.

I can’t wait to try these again. They were honestly the perfect ending to my otherwise less-than-amazing day.

Recipe by Two Peas & Their Pod.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cornstarch (I skipped this step)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup Kraft Caramel Bits

Sea salt, for sprinkling on cookies

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees; Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper so the cookies won’t stick!

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt.

3. In a separate bowl or using your stand mixer, cream together the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until smooth. Add in the egg and vanilla and beat well. Slowly add in the dry ingredients.

4. Stir in the chocolate chips and caramels until well combined.

5. Scoop dough by the tablespoon and onto your prepped cookie sheets. Make sure each cookie is about 2 inches apart. Sprinkle a little sea salt over the cookies dough before baking for 10 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges.

6. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

7. Try not to eat all the cookies at once or you might explode.

Standard

Leave a Reply

