DIY

PUMPKIN & PEANUT BUTTER PUPPY TREATS

puppy treats

Jordy has always been extremely curious about the kitchen. He’s always poking  his nose around in there, trying to steal a little bite of whatever James & I are cooking up. I’ve even caught him jumping up and throwing his paws on the counter just to get a better look/chance to get a snack.

But James and I have been super strict about not letting Jordy have any people food. We’ve both seen the negative consequences of dogs who have been fed a diet of people food for too long and we promised each other we wouldn’t go there. Although he’s never been rewarded for his adventures in the kitchen, Jordy keeps coming back.

So I thought it was finally time to make something he could actually eat. You know, to make him feel better (:

I googled about 50 recipes for DIY dog treats and I settled on a pumpkin & peanut butter combo. Jordy had peanut butter once at the veterinarian’s office and he absolutely loved it, so I figured it would a safe bet. Plus, his current favorite dog treats have pumpkin in them.

Jordy knew instantly that these little treats were for him. The minute I held one up he started jumping up and down and running around in circles. It took me 5 minutes before I could calm him down. And every time I held up the treat, he would try to give me his paw to shake when all I wanted was to snap a picture! We’ve trained him well apparently, because usually he can’t get his treats without giving us a shake and a hi-five.

I’m pretty sure Jordy loved these. I didn’t get the cute puppy smile like the one he gave me to get his beloved rawhides, but  I could tell he was pleased.

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

3/4 cup of pure pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

2 eggs

Directions

1. Toss all the ingredients into a stand mixer and beat using the paddle attachment.

2. Once the dough forms, grab a handful of the dough and roll into a giant ball.

3. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface and use your favorite mini cookie cutter to cut cute little shapes out. Full disclosure, I don’t have any mini cookie cutters and I didn’t want to run out to the store so I used a shot glass. I just turned it upside down and rammed it into the dough as hard as I could. FYI, shot glasses do not make great cookie cutters…

4. Place treats on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for about 30 minutes.

5. Let the treats cool completely before giving them to your pup. Store in an air tight container.

Standard

Leave a Reply

