baking

DID SOMEONE SAY DONUTS?

donuts

Can I just say that I am on fire today? I woke up at 4:30 a.m., went for a run/walk before work, knocked out everything on my to do list, did four interviews, wrote up a few things for the paper AND had time to bake when I got home. Hence the donuts.

I need to start having more days like this one.

Now that I’m finished being all impressed with myself, on to the donuts! I came across this recipe from Coco Cake Land on Saturday and just knew they would be my next baking adventure.

So I went to Michael’s and picked up some donut pans (I think they were about $9 a piece for and made 6 full sized donuts), gel coloring and sprinkles and go to work!

Ingredients

For the donuts:

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup granulated white sugar

1/3 cup golden brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

3/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 2/3s cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole milK

For the glaze: 

1 cup of confectioner’s sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

5 teaspoons whole milk

Sprinkles (optional)

Gel colors

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees; spray your donut pans with cooking spray.

2. In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream together the butter, vegetable oil and sugars until creamy.

3. Add eggs and beat.

4. Mix in the baking powder,  baking soda, nutmeg, salt and vanilla.

5. Begin slowly adding the flour, alternating between the flour and the milk. Mix until well combined.

6. Fill the donut pans about 3/4 of the way full. FYI, I recommend using a piping bag to do this part. I just sort of dumped the batter in on the first batch and it led to uneven donuts with crispy flyaways. You should have enough batter for about 20 or so full-size donuts, more if you’re using a mini pan.

7. Bake your donuts for about 8 minutes or until they are just lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

8. Immediately transfer donuts to a wire rack to cool.

9. While the donuts are cooling, whisk together the powdered sugar, vanilla and milk to create the icing glaze. If you’re going for one color of icing, consider doubling this recipe. If going for multiple icing colors like I did, make two batches but in separate bowls.

10. Dye the glaze using as much gel coloring as you like. Just remember the more you add the richer the color will be.

11. Dip cooled donuts into the glaze and let the excess run off into the bowl. If you want, add sprinkles while the icing is still wet, then place them back on the wire rack until the glaze dries. To keep your countertops from getting sticky with the runoff, place some parchment paper underneath the wire rack to catch all the drippings.

And that’s it! I couldn’t believe how easy these were to make and I think they turned out nearly perfect. I only say nearly because of those weird uneven donuts I made before I stopped being lazy and used my piping bag.

Think my coworkers are going to be stoked when I show up with these tomorrow morning?

Standard

Leave a Reply

