DIY

MAKE THIS: FLOWER WREATH

flower wreath

A certain someone in my apartment is always complaining about how our neighbor is “beating us” because she has a wreath on her door for every season and we do not.

To correct this injustice in the world and put us on top, I decided to get crafty.

I saw this tutorial the other day and immediately starting brainstorming ideas for a DIY flower wreath. A trip to Michaels for supplies for another project gave me the extra little push I needed to do try it.

And now, I have a pretty peony wreath hanging on my door. I picked peonies because they’re my favorite flower. Michael’s had about six different colors, but I settled on the traditional pink, a peachy coral color and white. I think it’s perfect for spring and summer, don’t you?

Supplies

Styrofoam wreath

Faux flowers

Ribbon

Wire cutters

Scissors

Hot glue & glue gun

Directions

1. Plug in your glue gun and let it heat up. Make sure you’re using a surface that can get a little gunk on it, because the glue might leak out a little.

2. Use the wire cutters to remove the flower heads from their stems. Set the flowers aside. p.s. you can use any flower, in any color in any size. Combining different colors and sizes is totally fine, I just chose to do one type of flower and size to make the project simpler.

3. Take the ribbon and wrap it around the wreath so that it is completely covered. Glue the end pieces to the wreath and let them dry completely.

4. Put some hot glue on the bottom of the flower head, then place it on the wreath. Press down for a few seconds to make sure it sticks. Glue down any pieces that might be sticking up.

5. Continue placing and gluing the flowers down until you’ve covered the entire wreath.

6. Let everything dry for about 15 minutes, then hang the wreath on your front door (:

I might be a little biased, but I think our wreath is prettier than the neighbors. I would prove it to you but I don’t want to get caught taking a photo of my neighbor’s door.

P.S. If I were you, I’d try to find something a little thinner for the wreath base. The one I picked up is kind of bulky, and I think it shows. Maybe not when you’re looking straight at it, but when I was walking by the apartment I could totally tell it was super thick, so it didn’t lay on the door as nicely and barely fit on the hanger.

If I find a thinner solution, I might pluck those peonies off and recreate this wreath For now, I’m fine with it. Especially because I realize this P.S. has been a little on the OCD side, and I promised myself I would start trying to let those things go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

